The first odyssey of Rajshahi Kings was almost a fairy tale last year. Kings reached the final of the fourth edition of BPL participating for the first time and came tantalizingly close to the title. This year Rajshahi Kings will try to better the result and wear the crown of BPL.

Captained once again by the two times T-20 world champion Darren Sammy, Rajshahi have more firepower this time. Leading run scorer of BPL all time and Bangladesh Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim has joined the Kings. Mushfiqur will inspire the team from behind the stumps and will play the role of Vice captain. Cutter Master Mustafizur Rahman has also been added to the squad, although his participation in BPL has been delayed by injury. But the addition of prolific West Indies batsman Lendl Simmons and experienced English all-rounder Luke Wright will boost the team massively.

Apart from these inclusions, the team has almost retained the last year squad. Mehidy Hasan and Mominul Haque once again will play some crucial roles for the kings. In form English all-rounder Samit Patel, seasoned New Zealand campaigner James Franklin and veteran Pakistan pacer Mohammad Sami will be available once again. Farhad Reza will play a key role one more time. Zimbabwe all-rounder Malcolm Waller can also play a significant role . Moreover , the team has been boosted by the inclusions of youngsters like Zakir Hasan, Nihaduzzaman.

Kings will start their campaign on the first day of BPL season 5 against Rangpur Riders. The match will start from Bangladesh timeĀ 7 PM.